Female Bodies: A Weighty Issue

A must read and see post if you want to understand the complexity of the human body’s outer shape.

shattersnipe: malcontent & rainbows

Hypothesis:

We have, as a society, such a completely disordered, distorted perception of female bodies that the vast majority of people are incapable of recognising what “overweight” actually looks like on a woman, let alone “healthy”. As such, we’re now at a point where women are not only raised to hate their bodies as a matter of course, but are shown, from childhood, a wholly inaccurate picture of what they “should” look like – a narrow, nigh on impossible physical standard they are then punished, both socially and medically, for failing to attain.

I don’t say this lightly. I say it because this is the only conclusion supported by the facts.

Let’s examine the evidence, shall we?

1: BMI

Overwhelmingly, the measurement used to determine whether or not someone is a “healthy weight” is the BMI, or Body Mass Index. Most people are still taught it in schools; indeed, it’s…

View original post 1,830 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

One response to “Female Bodies: A Weighty Issue

  1. It amaze me how this article says the truth. I’ve been surfing on Tumblr recently under the tag of body shape and I’m surprised how many girls between the age of 14-20 are obsessed with their body shape.weight and the space between their legs. I ask myself, is that really necessary? I mean I’m a fat person I’m aware of that, but why would I be depressed with my body shape? I know is not healthy being fat/obese but I love my self the way I am. Sometimes I feel bad because I would love to be skinny and pretty, but then I think I wouldn’t be as cool as I am right now. And it’s a shame that people of our society are ignorant and still make a big deal about it, an excellent example of it is bullying. People have suffered from bullying because being fat “is a bad example of our society” or “the fat people that would never be as sporty/beautiful as the skinny people” I know, I’ve been in that situation too, were people call you names and you cry asking your self why you have to be like this? In what things did you made a mistake? What you did wrong in the past? But I just got over with, now the people I know sees me as a regular person, and I’m happy. So to the haters out there, or the “wannabe-funny” people, just stop, if being ignorant is part of all of you, then I would prefer being the way I am, thanks! All females are beautiful no matter their body shape is.

Leave a Reply

