Couture Fashion Week

Here are some highlights of mine from this year’s couture shows! These photos are just a couple of my favorites (I’ll post 1 of each designer who showed this week). Tell us your thoughts about these shows, your favorite pieces and your favorite designers, drop a link to photos of your favorite looks!

Alexis Mabille:

The designer called the collection “Geometric surgery”, and frankly, I agree! I loved it! I’m big on color blocking, and the Cruella Deville look.

Anne Valerie Hash:

Eeeehh.

Armani Prive:

Not bad. The crescent moons were a nice touch.

Chanel:

I think a lot of people know I’m not huge on Chanel, but I like this collection, VERY clean and almost baby doll. It reminds me of the Shibuya district. LOVED the hair.

Christian Dior:

WOW! This collection was very nice, and looked VERY expensive. The buttoned dresses were alright, but over all, a “BRAVA!” to John Galliano. And if I’m not mistaken, Tavi (A well noted blogger) attended, it was a rumor, but the photo looked just like her, with a large obnoxious bow on her head made of pink feathers.

Elie Saab:

VERY romantic! No other words.

Givenchy:

As one blogger stated, Givenchy “channeled Marilyn Manson through make up and black pieces”. There was also a dress with an Ombre effect covering these pompom looking, for a lack of a better word, appendages.

Jean Paul Gaultier:

I could not figure out the inspiration, but the tailored looks and the pirate hats seemed very “French navy”. Only thing that could come to my mind. The basket weaving was really neat! Gaultier has been on a weaving kick since last season, I see. UPDATE: I just read this morning that he was inspired by Mexico and the film Avatar. I was WAY off!

Thimister:

Awesome looks! I loved this Balaclava hooded dress, and the reds!

Valentino:

The blogger BryanBoy called this collection “a sloppy Balenciaga”. Some of the looks do remind me of a mix between Nicholas Ghesquiere’s 2009-2010 fall and 2009 spring collections. Bryanboy called it “Valenciaga”. I don’t think the house or it’s couture will be the same, since Monsieur Valentino left.

Remember, leave your feedback and tell us what your favorite looks were!

-Eddie Martinez

3 Comments

Filed under Fashion

3 responses to “Couture Fashion Week

  1. I am no longer positive where you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or understanding more. Thank you for magnificent information I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

  2. My favorite has to be the Armani Prive. I loved the cresent moon shaped collar, that’s some artistic ability. $$$

  3. Trish

    I love the Alexis Mabille photo…but I must say, I am worried about the Valentino line. Maybe you need to go and help them out (of that odd funk!)

Leave a Reply

